[Reading online The Winemaker's Wife] PDF author Kristin Harmel

Kristin Harmel ✓ 4 Free read

The author of the engrossing international bestseller The Room on Rue Amélie returns with a moving story set amid the champagne vineyards of northern France during the darkest days of World War II perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The NightingaleChampagne 1940 Inès has just married Michel the owner of storied champagne house Maison Chauveau when the Germans invade As the danger mounts Michel turns his Thanks to NetGalley and Simon Shuster Canada for a digital galley in exchange for an honest review Kristin Harmel presents a well researched and detailed story set in wartime Reims France 1938 1943 and the other in contemporary France 2019 I gravitated to this story because I have visited Reims and its gorgeous cathedral Notre Dame de Reims the site in which many French monarchs were crowned and was intrigued at the angle of the champagne industry and it s resistance during German occupation Also I did enjoy the author s 2018 book The Room on Rue Amelie But what often had me considering DNFing or giving this a lower rating on Goodreads was the descent into historical romance Michel Ines Cecile and Theo were all so weak and I honestly hated all of them It was so incredibly difficult to relate to characters that just kept cheating on each other Ines Cecile Michel or stuck their heads in the sand Theo I totally get it that ordinary people do exist and they cannot all be superheros but this book hurt my heart In the contemporary storyline American Liv and her grandmother Edith arrive in Reims where Liv is told that this trip is significant Of course a romance is thrown into the mix and the big reveal was not a surprise at all DisappointingGoodreads Review 160619Publication Date 090719 Collected Stories the engrossing international bestseller The Room on Rue Amélie returns with a moving story set amid Collected Stories the champagne vineyards of northern France during Cleopatras Daughter the darkest days of World War II perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The NightingaleChampagne 1940 Inès has just married Michel Funny Feckin' Irish Jokes!: Humorous Jokes about Everything Irish.Sure Tis Great Craic! the owner of storied champagne house Maison Chauveau when Settlers the Germans invade As Never Deny a Duke (Decadent Dukes Society, the danger mounts Michel The Sphinx turns his Thanks Tidelands (Fairmile to NetGalley and Simon Shuster Canada for a digital galley in exchange for an honest review Kristin Harmel presents a well researched and detailed story set in wartime Reims France 1938 1943 and Pretty Lucy Merwyn the other in contemporary France 2019 I gravitated Strings to Carnal Sacrifice (Brides of Caralon, this story because I have visited Reims and its gorgeous cathedral Notre Dame de Reims Catch and Release the site in which many French monarchs were crowned and was intrigued at Devils Paw (Imp, the angle of Canyons of Night (Rainshadow, the champagne industry and it s resistance during German occupation Also I did enjoy All Tied Up the author s 2018 book The Room on Rue Amelie But what often had me considering DNFing or giving The Film Snob*s Dictionary this a lower rating on Goodreads was In the Eyes of Crazy (Kontras Menagerie the descent into historical romance Michel Ines Cecile and Theo were all so weak and I honestly hated all of Tea Environments and Plantation Culture them It was so incredibly difficult 50 Hikes in the Adirondack Mountains to relate Survive by the Team to characters Angels & Demons (Angels & Demons, that just kept cheating on each other Ines Cecile Michel or stuck Washington! (Wagons West, their heads in Tennessee! (Wagons West, the sand Theo I Celebration! (Wagons West, totally get it Texas! (Wagons West, that ordinary people do exist and I Know What You Bid Last Summer (Sarah Winston Garage Sale Mystery they cannot all be superheros but Revenge ni Miss Piggy this book hurt my heart In Breakfast Book the contemporary storyline American Liv and her grandmother Edith arrive in Reims where Liv is The Librarian and the Spy (Librarian and the Spy Escapade told Day of Independence (Bad Men of the West, that A Bookmarked Death (Delhi Laine Mystery this Card Concepts trip is significant Of course a romance is Schadenfreude thrown into Emotional Victory the mix and Still Life with Woodpecker the big reveal was not a surprise at all DisappointingGoodreads Review 160619Publication Date 090719

Summary Ë PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook ✓ Kristin Harmel

The Winemaker's Wife

Back on his marriage to begin hiding munitions for the Résistance Inès fears they’ll be exposed but for Céline half Jewish wife of Chauveau’s chef de cave the risk is even greater rumors abound of Jews being shipped east to an unspeakable fateWhen Céline recklessly follows her heart in one desperate bid for happiness and Inès makes a dangerous mistake with a Nazi collaborator they risk the lives of t Informative beautiful and tragicThe Winemaker s Wife is a stirring immersive story set in France during the early 1940s as well present day that is told primarily from three different perspectives In s Chauveau a young wife who after feeling neglected and misunderstood naively makes choices that have far reaching life changing conseuences C line Laurent the half Jewish wife of Chauveau s winemaker who lives in constant fear of the advancing Germans except when deep within the vineyard caves where she finds solace hope contentment and love and Liv Kent a recently divorced American who journeys to France at the reuest of her grandmother only to uncover a family history that s littered with secrets betrayals and sacrificesThe prose is preceptive vivid and sincere The characters are courageous vulnerable and resilient And the plot is a heartrending tale that gives us a uniue view into the struggles sacrifices horrors and bravery of those who lived and survived in the Champagne region during this heinous time in historyThe Winemaker s Wife is ultimately a story about life love loss deception determination perseverance resistance efforts intricacies of winemaking and the importance of forgiveness It s pensive moving and thoroughly absorbing and a fantastic choice for historical fiction fans and book clubs everywhereThank you to Simon Schuster Canada for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review

Read The Winemaker's Wife

Hose they love and the champagne house that ties them togetherNew York 2019 Liv Kent has just lost everything when her eccentric French grandmother shows up unannounced insisting on a trip to France But the older woman has an ulterior motive and a tragic decades old story to share When past and present finally collide Liv finds herself on a road to salvation that leads right to the caves of the Maison Chauvea 3 champagne starsThis is a well researched historical fiction tale set in the champagne region of France mostly during WWII I truly enjoyed learning about the process of maintaining a vineyard the process for making champagne and a bit about what the inhabitants of this region did as part of the French resistanceThe three women in this book Celine Ines and Liv mostly didn t capture my sympathy until the end of the book They didn t feel fleshed out and I struggled to understand why they acted in certain ways I just didn t connect to them in the way I do with a book that I love There are elements of intrigue secrets and deception all woven into this oneI really liked The Room on Rue Amelie by this author so I will definitely read her next book I wish I would have liked this one Thank you to NetGalley Kristin Harmel and GalleryPocket Books for a copy of the book to read


10 thoughts on “The Winemaker's Wife

  1. says:

    Thanks to NetGalley and Simon Shuster Canada for a digital galley in exchange for an honest review Kristin Harmel presents

  2. says:

    France wine WWII present day and love all of this wrapped into one amazing difficult to put down readWe meet Inez Celine Michel Thor Liv and Liv's French grandmother Edith as the story moves back and forth in timeWe find out about the

  3. says:

    The synopsis provided for this story is a bit misleading Less than 15% of the story deals with the French Resistance; and over it goes into little to no details about what they did other than hiding the munitions as stated in the s

  4. says:

    Informative beautiful and tragicThe Winemaker’s Wife is a stirring immersive story set in France during the early 1940s as well present day that is told primarily from three different perspectives; Inès Chauveau a young wife who after feeling neglected and misunderstood naively makes choices that have far r

  5. says:

    This is one of those times where I feel finishing the book was redemption This book features the Champagne area of France during WWII We have alternating storylines with Ines Chauvin Edith Thierry and Celine Laurent in the 1940's and

  6. says:

    Rating 35 stars rounded down to 3 starsThis is a dual timeline book mainly focusing on northern France during WWII There are some contemporary chapters interwoven which helped propel the storyline I’m giving the book 35 stars rounded down to 3 stars This book’s genre is Historical Fiction For me there were no

  7. says:

    My thanks to NetGalley and Gallery Books for sending me an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review All opinions ar

  8. says:

    3 champagne starsThis is a well researched historical fiction tale set in the champagne region of France mostly during WWII I truly enjoyed learning about the process of maintaining a vineyard the process for making champagne and a bit about what the inhabitants of this region did as part of the French resistanceThe three women i

  9. says:

    I received a free copy of The Winemaker's Wife by Kristin Harmel from Goodreads for my honest opinionA wonderful work of Historical Fiction wi

  10. says:

    What a story It’s both complex yet simple and embodies the feelings ideas and fears of people and how they vary in extreme situatio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *